You mean… I should READ business books?

22 May

I love Seth Godin’s blog.

His posts are short.  His style often translates a small experience into a simple truth. And not just a simple truth, but a useful truth.  Something I can work with.

I also hate reading business books.  You can get the point in the first chapter (if not the introduction).  The rest is fluff … I finish the books just to say I finished them.

So here’s the thing: Seth knows this (can I call you Seth, Seth?):

“The recipe that makes up just about any business book can be condensed to just two or three pages. The rest is the sell. The proof. The persuasion.”

The point:  you don’t read a business book for the bullet points.  You read it to make change.  You learn new stories and you see how you can make something new part of your story.  Heck, maybe you’ll even make your business better.

Heck, I may even have to read his books.

 

  

5 Responses to “You mean… I should READ business books?”

  1. Adam Singer May 22, 2008 at 11:54 am #

    ken – if you like his blog, you will LOVE his books

  2. Seth Godin May 22, 2008 at 5:23 pm #

    I think Adam is right.

  3. Ken Kadet May 24, 2008 at 2:18 am #

    Arright already! 🙂

  4. Arkwright June 19, 2008 at 12:22 am #

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Arkwright.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. You mean… I should READ business books? - May 22, 2008

    […] Go to the author’s original blog: You mean… I should READ business books? […]

Leave a Reply

