So I went and got a job…

21 Feb
It feels strange to say it, but it’s true: I have a new job.

 

I’ve joined a long-time client as corporate communications manager, focused on driving global internal communications to engage and align employees around the company’s corporate strategy. It also means that I’ve closed up shop as an independent consultant.

 

Why leave  the freelance life?  The biggest motivation for me is the chance to part of a team again — the idea that I can, once again, be part of building some great. And it’s a chance, after 18+ years as an agency guy, to be on the inside, instead of on the outside looking in.

 

The decision wasn’t easy. 2010 was my best year as an independent and I took each relationship with each client very personally.  I didn’t have to do this. But at the same time, I did.  Yeah, the idea of benefits didn’t hurt, but the more I thought about it, the more I thought it was time to chance at change…to try something new…to refresh before I grew stale.

 

As for the blog…I’ve been pretty quiet, I know… I’ve been rethinking what I want to do with this thing. I won’t be blogging about the job, but I’d like to shake up the blog and plan to dive back into the fray soon.  I hope you’ll stay tuned.

 

So that’s my news…what’s been up with you?
3 Responses to “So I went and got a job…”

  1. Jessie Clapper February 21, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    Congratulations on the new job, Ken. Enjoy the view from the inside. Can’t wait to see where you take your blog.

  2. Tim Whalen February 22, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Ken, congratulations and welcome to the neighborhood.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention So I went and got a job… « Kadet Communications -- Topsy.com - February 21, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by KellyGroehler, Ken Kadet. Ken Kadet said: So I went and got a job… http://wp.me/pcFMH-ai […]

Leave a Reply

